Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.


City Of Chicago

Swearingen White Appointed CUPPA's Next Dean

David Merriman, Interim Dean Heading link

Professor David Merriman began as Interim Dean of the UIC College of Urban Planning and Public Affairs on August 1, 2021.

Merriman, in his fifteenth year at UIC, is an expert in state and local tax and budgetary policies. He holds the title of Stukel Presidential Professor in the Department of Public Administration, an appointment in the Department of Economics, where he also served as head of the department from 2009-2010, and an appointment in the Institute for Government and Public Affairs. In CUPPA, he served as associate dean for faculty affairs from 2011-2012 and as interim head in Public Administration from 2019-2020.

CUPPA Office of the Dean Heading link

Linsu Abraham Manager of Research Operations
Paola Caicedo Director of Finance
Jie Chen Information Technology Manager/Administrative Coordinator
Kathleen Engstrom Associate Dean
Jaime Holland Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Affairs
David Merriman Interim Dean
Doris Nelson Business Administrative Associate
Jennifer Pietka Assistant Dean for Administration
Kelly LeRoux Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Research
Lynn Ross Business Administrative Assistant
Jodi White Jones Assistant Dean for Communication
Curt Winkle Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Kathleen Yang-Clayton Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Ana Puma Customer Service Representative
Jenny Sweeney Associate Director of Special Events

CUPPA Dean's Council Heading link

table meeting

Building on CUPPA’s rich history, and committed to its growth, impact, and long term viability, the CUPPA Dean’s Council was established in 2015.  The CUPPA Dean’s Council is comprised of thought leaders in fields which shape and guide contemporary issues of urban and metropolitan regions who provide insight on current and emerging issues in their respective fields, and on strategic thinking that will help CUPPA shape future directions for the College.

The sharing of their individual areas of expertise broadens and deepens the ongoing conversation in which CUPPA engages about transforming cities and metropolitan regions, improving public and non-profit management, as well as enhancing the urban condition more generally.  One of CUPPA’s many assets is its multiple partnerships and collaborations with nonprofits, foundations, corporations, and other Universities.   The Dean’s Council plays a significant role in strengthening and expanding these relationships by identifying new partners, enabling alliances, and enhancing the visibility and recognition of the College.

CUPPA Dean’s Council members advance the work of the College by increasing the visibility and impact of CUPPA’s research and scholarship with stakeholder partners in the corporate and civic communities and by serving as ambassadors through their professional interactions and contacts.  Members of the Dean’s Council, in knowing and telling CUPPA’s story, in particular its alumni’s significant impact on the landscape and leadership of Chicago, serve an essential role in promoting the mission and vision of the College.

Members of the CUPPA Dean's Council Heading link

Frank Beal Senior Executive, Civic Consulting Alliance
Richard Ciccarone President and CEO, Merritt Research Service, LLC
Robert Currie (retired), President, Community Care Alliance of Illinois
Stephen Friedman President and Founder, SB Friedman Development Advisors
Aleks Granchalek Managing Director - Public Finance Investment Banking, Fifth Third Securities
Lori Healey Senior Vice President, OPC Implementation Lead, Obama Foundation
Erin Lavin Cabonargi Managing Director, URBAN ReSOLVE
William Mack Executive Director, Morgan Stanley
George Ranney (retired), President and CEO, Metropolis Strategies
Al Riley Rich Township Supervisor and Former Member, Illinois House of Representatives, 38th District
James Spiotto * Managing Director, Chapman Strategic Advisors, LLC
Emily Tapia Lopez Director of Strategic Initiatives, HTNB

* Remembering Jim Spiotto

CUPPA Alumni Association Board of Directors Heading link

Alumni Board Members

Founded in 1997, the CUPPA Alumni Association (CUPPAAA) offers educational and career development opportunities to alumni, current students, and faculty.  Members from the base of almost 3000 alumni from 1978 forward make up the volunteer alumni association board of directors. All alumni of the UIC Public Administration, Public Policy, Public Policy Analysis, Urban Planning and Policy, Urban and Public Affairs, and Urban Sciences programs are invited to participate.

The committees of the CUPPA Alumni Board of Directors include Special Events, Professional Development, and Student-Alumni Connections. Members organize events and activities for the informal sharing and exchange of information and to encourage professional relationships. Alumni use their special expertise and connections to schedule unique outings and extended educational opportunities.