Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

CUPPA Emeritus Prof Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Tim Johnson, Professor Emeritus

Tim Johnson Receives American Association for Public Opinion Research Lifetime Achievement Recognition

The AAPOR Award is the American Association for Public Opinion Research lifetime achievement award. It is given for an outstanding contribution to the field of public opinion research, including: advances in theory, empirical research and methods; improvements in ethical standards; and promotion of understanding among the public, media and/or policy makers.

The award was presented to Public Policy, Management, and Analytics Professor Emeritus Tim Johnson on May 12 at the Association's conference banquet.

Johnson’s leadership, scholarship, mentorship, and advocacy have enriched public opinion and survey research for over 35 years, according to the association. His substantive and methodological contributions, his promotion and enhancement of research standards, and his advocacy for the importance of survey research, are each remarkable in their own right. Collectively, they have profoundly enhanced our entire field.

An enormously productive scholar, Tim’s impactful publications, including seven edited volumes and hundreds of refereed articles and book chapters, have advanced the science of survey measurement, improved representation of hard-to-count populations, and produced innovations in cross-cultural methodology. Moreover, his ground-breaking applications of survey data to the study of health behavior, health care, substance abuse, and mental health have reflected his commitment to using social science to promote the common good, particularly the health and well-being of underserved populations.

Tim’s generosity to both students and colleagues is legendary. Through decades of teaching and serving on over 80 dissertation committees at the University of Illinois at Chicago, he has developed the methodological finesse of a whole generation of researchers. He has also answered countless calls to serve on advisory, review, organizing and service committees across a wide range of academic and professional institutions.

Tim’s executive leadership service across our profession is almost unparalleled, including the presidencies of AAPOR, WAPOR, MAPOR, and AASRO. Across these organizations, he tirelessly protected our professional interests through advocacy for the importance of polls and surveys for informed decision-making and combatting misinformation, as well as promoting establishment of and adherence to strong research standards. His leadership in AAPOR’s Transparency Initiative, including development of requirements, training, and outreach plans, and overall implementation of its vision, were essential to its success.

For all his extraordinary achievements and contributions, the American Association for Public Opinion Research is pleased to present the 2023 Award for Exceptionally Distinguished Achievement to Dr. Timothy P. Johnson.

View Tim's tribute interview here.

More information on AAPOR and the award is available on the association's website.